The Monist

Founded in 1888 by Edward C. Hegeler, The Monist is one of the world’s oldest and most important journals in philosophy. It helped to professionalize philosophy as an academic discipline in the United States by publishing philosophers such as Lewis White Beck, John Dewey, Gottlob Frege, Hans-Georg Gadamer, Sidney Hook, C.I. Lewis, Ernst Mach, Charles Sanders Peirce, Hilary Putnam, Willard Van Orman Quine, Bertrand Russell, and Gregory Vlastos. The Monist publishes quarterly thematic issues on particular philosophical topics which are edited by leading philosophers in the corresponding fields. As a result, each issue is a collected anthology of continuing interest.

The Monist is edited by Barry Smith, Department of Philosophy, University at Buffalo.

Editor designate (from 2017):

Professor Fraser MacBride
Department of Philosophy,
University of Glasgow,
69 Oakfield Avenue,
Glasgow G12 8QQ

The Monist is published by Oxford University Press.

The Monist Editorial Board

Henry E. Allison, Boston University
David Braun, University at Buffalo
Roberto Casati, Institut Jean Nicod, Paris
Dagfinn Føllesdal, Stanford University & University of Oslo
Susan Haack, University of Miami
John Haldane, University of St. Andrews
David Hershenov, University at Buffalo
Joseph Margolis, Temple University
Kevin Mulligan, University of Geneva
J.K. Nyíri, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest
Anita Silvers, San Francisco State University
Peter M. Simons, University of Dublin
Jan Wolenski, Jagiellonian University, Cracow
Achille C. Varzi, Columbia University
Leo Zaibert, Union College, Schenectady